PDA

View Full Version : Waist Usage

Daredevil
02-18-2002, 04:23 PM
Heya,

I'm curious about waist usage in the various wing chun lineages.

I did Wing Tsun for a bit less than a year before starting with my current teacher, with whom I'm studying Baji and Chen style Taiji. Wing Tsun definately gave me an understanding of approaching arts via principles, something which is quite similar in internal arts. However, both Baji and Taiji have really elaborated on waist use for creating power.

So, I've been wondering about this. The waist, in our WT classes, was held stationary and the hands (elbows) did the movement. I'd like to hear your insights on this.

I am not looking to bash any style or to argue one way is better than the other. I have naturally, having done these styles, contemplated on the differences and even though I practise different styles now, I still value many things I learned in WT.

Thanks!

vingtsunstudent
02-18-2002, 06:05 PM
in the wong shun leung method the waist is a critical factor & is used to devestating affect.
i can't speak for wing tsun, but will ask if you only learnt the first form?
the use of the waist becomes very apparent in the second form as well as in stepping & chi sao.
vts

whippinghand
02-18-2002, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by vingtsunstudent
in the wong shun leung method the waist is a critical factor & is used to devestating affect. How so?

JasBourne
02-18-2002, 08:37 PM
Jui Wan method uses waist power. I'm unclear on this: "The waist, in our WT classes, was held stationary and the hands (elbows) did the movement. " How do you hold your waist stationary and still fight effectively? :confused:

fmann
02-18-2002, 09:34 PM
What grade in WT were you?

You should have started learning using the waist in Lat sao program 2, when you have to gan da a low punch, putting one's waist in to it gets maximal effect.

vingtsunstudent
02-18-2002, 10:02 PM
hey whippy
i'm sure with your brilliance i don't need to answer that.
vts