PDA

View Full Version : Yang Ban Ho Pao Chui form

Sho Pi
02-18-2002, 06:52 PM
Has anyone heard of this form or currently practice it? I came across a couple of video clips and was very interested in seeing more.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Sho Pi

RAF
02-18-2002, 07:23 PM
Did you see it in the ROAM ABOUT THE TAIJI WORLD?

Doesn't look like the typical Yang styles and also has a lot of fajing expression.

Did you the first set of the Yang Ban Hou form?

Someone argued that this mirror the Chen's 1st and 2nd routine and might be the original Chen/Yang Form.

A more cynical view, well, I won't go there because I really kind of like the form.

taijiquan_student
02-18-2002, 08:25 PM
As far as I know, Pao Chui refers to Chen Family forms, not Yang.

RAF
02-18-2002, 08:39 PM
Borrow, beg or steal for a copy. Its interesting and I know that many of the lineage holders in the Yang Cheng Fu tradition practice single moving fajing postures from the form.

In 1984, I started learning the Yang style of taijiquan from a fellow by the name of Tom Phillips in Lexington Kentucky. He had a lot longfist while in New Jersy and took a class from Jou Tsung Hwa who was teaching at Rutgers University. Tom gave up evertything and stayed with Jou to learn his Yang long form, sword, push hands, qi gong, Chen etc..

When Tom taught us at the 4 Season, he had us utilizing fajing single moving from the form.

Years later in the Living Treasure Series, I saw Fu Sheng Yuan, son of Fu Zhong Wen, doing the same single movements with fajing. From that point on I realized that much of the Yang Cheng Fu style had hidden its fighting and conditioning training and those that claim the system is only for health, had only partially learned the system.

I really don't know if the Yang Ban Hou system is legitimate or made up. If it isn't, then it gets as close to the original yang Lu Chan form as is possible.

Funny how you never hear about anyone teaching it or researching it.

Sho Pi