PDA

View Full Version : TaeKwon Doh!

koycymru
02-19-2002, 04:52 PM
Hey, I'm new to taekwon do and during my searches for information on it I've found that a lot of people have a pretty low opinion of it. What's up?

I've heard the sport (WTF style) vs combat arguments, but with a lot of macho overtones. Hopefully the level-headed people here will give me some words of wisdom on the matter. The master I train with gives us a good deal of cross training in Hapkido, but, as an olympian, he's very focused on the sparring and sport of TKD.

PS: I'm more interested in TKD as a sport, but the martial art and self defense aspect fascinates me...otherwise I wouldn't be posting.

MA fanatic
02-20-2002, 06:13 AM