PDA

View Full Version : Looking for good Vancouver school

Mr.Sleazy
02-20-2002, 01:22 PM
Hello, All:

I am new to MA and am looking for a high-quality school or teacher to train under in Vancouver BC. From internet research I am attracted to Kung Fu (with its many many styles) and possibly Krav Maga. I have a few criteria though to narrow the search:

1. The training must be very combative/self defence focussed with substantial time spent with hard sparring. I am not really interested in the "inner peace" stuff, though I don't mind it.

2. Very professional instructor(s) with good credentials and attitude.

3. Fellow students with a good attitude who are keen on training and not just beating on people.

4. Cost effective.

Any suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks.

Mr.Sleazy

CLFNole
02-20-2002, 01:43 PM
I know Sifu Chan Sau Chung and his son Chan Kai Leung opened a Tai Sing Pek Kwar Mun school within the past year. Sifu Chan is known as the monkey king and is well known for producing very good fighters. Not sure where the school is but I would guess you could find it pretty easy.

I know they have a web site but I can't remember the name. Do a search on the internet and you should find it. If you can't post again and I'll see if I can't find it for ya.

I also know there are a few Choy Lay Fut schools in Vancouver, I know Wong Ha and Hilbery Yu have schools plus I think there is a Buk Sing CLF school. As a CLF practioner myself I am a bit partial to this style, however the schools in your area are from different lineages than myself. My late sifu was very close to Chan Sau Chung and this is why I recommended his school first.

Wong Ha is quite old now so I don't think he teaches. Hilbert Yu was a student of Wong Ha who incorporated Wushu into his CLF.

Peace.

rubthebuddha
02-20-2002, 01:50 PM