PDA

View Full Version : The Fallacy of "REBEL QING, RESUME MING"

Ming Fai
01-22-2001, 05:08 PM
This topic is my reaction after reading the topic "Ching or Ming dynasty?".

I'm a graduate student of Chinese Translation & Interpreting and furthermore I have been studying Chinese history since the age of 12 (autodidactic). What is really annoying me these couple of years is the misconception, among martial artists in particular, that the Ming was "good" and the Qing was "evil", IT JUST AIN'T TRUE!!!

Kunglek from Winnipeg wrote that the Ming dynasty was considered the Golden Age in Chinese history and that the Qing dynasty was a period of suppression of the Chinese people by the Manchurians. This idea is very common amongst practitioners of Chinese Martial Arts in the West, and ONLY in the West. Everyone who knows Chinese history, like every citizen of the Chinese regions (People's Republic of China, Taiwan, Hongkong and Singapore) where Chinese history is taught at school knows that this is not true.