PDA

View Full Version : I suck

IronFist
02-25-2002, 01:28 AM
I dunno what to do. For the last 4 years I've been torn between weightlifting and MA. I've never been able to pick just one. Being good at MA is important to me, but being strong is very important to me as well.

What's that Chinese (I think) proverb about if you try to master two things at once you will master nothing (or something like that)? That's me. I'm not very strong in weight lifting (well, maybe for my weight, I've made awesome progress I was just weak to start with, hehe, ectomorph) and I'm not very good at MA. Wtf?

And I always go "dude I should start training hardcore MA starting TODAY" and then I get all ready and then I think "fuxor, if my bench and squat go down I'll be pěssed as heck."

So, I've always tried to come up with some half assed attempt at doing some MA after my weight lifting, but I'm always afraid to go all out because I wouldn't want to not be at 100% for my weights tomorrow...

...and for that same reason I can't do MA training before I lift. Ever try to bench press after throwing x-hundred punches? Exactly. Not to mention the fact that stances and squatting don't get along :)

Hmm, another choice might be to alternate... do a cycle of weightlifting, and then a cycle of MA. a) that would drive me nuts. b) my ectomorphic metabolism would surely not tolerate a 2 week layoff between lifting cycles. It would go "mmm... muscles... chomp chomp chomp." Oh yeah, the 2 week thing comes from Pavel style PTP lifting cycles (don't worry if you don't know what that means :D ).

Boooooo!!! I suck.

You know what? It was so much easier in highschool before I knew stuff about anatomy and lifting and nutrition and recovery. Every day was the same. Do MA. Do Stone Warrior. Done. And I used to wonder why I plateaued...

I suck :)

IronFist

Merryprankster
02-25-2002, 01:33 AM
Try doing the big three once a week.