PDA

View Full Version : Recommended training videos?

jointlock
02-25-2002, 12:36 PM
Hello, I just found out about this forum a few days ago. Great forum. I would have joined earlier if I had known about it.
I have no experience ordering training videos and would like to do so. What training videos do you recommend?

ewallace
02-25-2002, 12:38 PM
street ready for the elderly with tae bo.

Just kidding. What style(s) are you interested in?

KC Elbows
02-25-2002, 12:54 PM
The Black Mask.

Techniques you will learn:

-How to dodge tank fire

-How to defend yourself while removing a bomb from a human heart

-That chest wounds are not nearly so deadly as shoulder wounds

Like ewallace said, what styles do you like?

jointlock
02-25-2002, 01:18 PM
Originally posted by ewallace
street ready for the elderly with tae bo.
ROFL :D

I'm interested in any training/styles that include optimum strikes, grabs, throws, and locks. Standing, and/or on the ground. And using optimum stances.
Wing Chun is cool, anything JKD related, Silat, anything involving optimum throws and locks, and Jujutsu/ground fighting.

jointlock
02-25-2002, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by KC Elbows
The Black Mask.

Techniques you will learn:

-How to dodge tank fire

-How to defend yourself while removing a bomb from a human heart

-That chest wounds are not nearly so deadly as shoulder wounds
ROFL :D

ewallace
02-25-2002, 01:40 PM
that's a pretty broad range there dude.

JKD - I would recommend "Jun Fan/Jeet Kune Do - Scientific Streetfighting" written by Sifu Lamar M. Davis II. I know you are looking for training videos but this is a book.

San Soo - I recommend "Sudden Violence - The Art of Kung Fu San Soo" by Master Greg Jones. This is also a book. I have never trained San Soo but the book is good. I have heard that the "Street Ready" videos by Bill Hulsey are good but I have not personnaly seen them.

ewallace
02-25-2002, 01:42 PM