PDA

View Full Version : What sword styles are there?

nightair
02-25-2002, 01:06 PM
I want to learn more about swords and I was wondering if you would start naming and briefly describing some forms. Much thanx to y'all

JasBourne
02-25-2002, 01:15 PM
"Baat Jam Do" is Wing Chun's twin butterfly swords form. Not very flowery, but they don't call 'em "life-taking knives" for nothing :D

shaolinboxer
02-25-2002, 01:19 PM
What kind of swords?

Currently I'm studying Yagyu Shinkage Ryu. It has several kata, single and double man, individualized techniques, breathing technqieus, timing/distance (maai) drills, kiai cutting, etc.

So many kinds of swords from all over the world....

apoweyn
02-25-2002, 01:23 PM
i'm with shaolinboxer. that's a BIG question.

western fencing? japanese kenjutsu? many, many civilizations have some take on swordfighting.

nightair
02-25-2002, 01:23 PM
that sounds cool. Whatever type of swords every thing from Japanese to medieval martial arts.

Ray Pina
02-25-2002, 02:10 PM
I have only nibbled my master's E-chuan two handed sword. I like the leverage of two hands, wide grip. Though I'd like to learn the fencing as well. One of his disciples was a fencer in school and I've walked in on them a few times training. Looks fun.

Chang Style Novice
02-25-2002, 02:21 PM
Those pudao that whatsisname linked to a while back look like a lot of fun. The guy with the chinese swords page, him.

Xebsball
02-25-2002, 02:31 PM
You mean Thomas Chen?

Chang Style Novice
02-25-2002, 02:34 PM
yeah, that's him.

NorthernShaolin
02-25-2002, 11:10 PM