PDA

View Full Version : Bagua Quan vs. Tong Long Quan

Eight_Triagram_Boxer
02-25-2002, 09:13 PM
I just read an article today in Journal of Asian Martial Arts. It's in the latest issue. The article was about the history of Praying Mantis, specifically Mei Hua style. In this article there was a reference made to Gong Baotien and how a mantis practitioner named Jiang Hualong. The story say Jiang beat Gong in a challenge match. Now I've heard of this story before but with a completely different ending. Of course in the story I heard Gong was actually the winner and was forced into hiding. In anycase, I just wanted to make some of my Bagua cousins, Count, aware of this so they can check it out for themselves. I'd like to hear any views or ideas anyone has on this. Oh, before anyone thinks I'm biased...I studied mantis too and love the style...so... :p

NafAnal
02-26-2002, 03:04 AM
Y'know they probably just met up for tea and biscuits, perhaps some wadded beef or jellied eels, discussed their wives and kids, and parted good friends. None of this challenge match crap....

Eight_Triagram_Boxer
02-26-2002, 10:18 AM
I tend to agree with you NafAnal. Sounds the most realistic. However, I just wanted to bring to everyone's attention another version I heard from the Mantis board... Here it is...

Posted by: Ilya Profatilov

This is a Bagua Quan (Zhang) version of the story:

It says that GM Jiang Hualong won a challenge match with Gong Baotian's older brother Gong Baoshan's disciple Gong Tuzi (BTW all Gongs were relatives and from the same Qinshan Cun Village of Mouping County, Shandong Province). Gong Tuzi also learned Bagua from Gong Baotian.

Gong Baoshan was an early disciple of Yin Fu (Dong Haichuan's disciple) and Gong Baotian was Gong Baoshan's younger brother. Gong Baotian prior to introduction to Yin Fu learned Bagua from his brother Gong Baoshan. Gong Baoshan had a great gongfu skills in Bagua Quan, so did his disciple Gong Tuzi.