PDA

View Full Version : Bagua Quan vs. Tong Long Quan

Eight_Triagram_Boxer
02-25-2002, 09:21 PM
I just read an article today in Journal of Asian Martial Arts. It's in the latest issue. The article was about the history of Praying Mantis, specifically Mei Hua style. In this article there was a reference made to Gong Baotien and how a mantis practitioner named Jiang Hualong. The story say Jiang beat Gong in a challenge match. Now I've heard of this story before but with a completely different ending. Of course in the story I heard Gong was actually the winner and was forced into hiding. I'd like to hear any views or ideas anyone has on this. Oh, before anyone thinks I'm biased...I studied mantis too and love the style...so...

:p

NorthernMantis
02-26-2002, 08:44 AM
Cool, it sounds very interesting but can you explain who beat who?I don't have any knowledge of the mei hua lineage.
Thanks in adavance.:cool:

Ilya Profatilov
02-26-2002, 09:08 AM
Hi Eight_Triagram_Boxer,

This is a Bagua Quan (Zhang) version of the story:

It says that GM Jiang Hualong won a challenge match with Gong Baotian's older brother Gong Baoshan's disciple Gong Tuzi (BTW all Gongs were relatives and from the same Qinshan Cun Village of Mouping County, Shandong Province). Gong Tuzi also learned Bagua from Gong Baotian.

Gong Baoshan was an early disciple of Yin Fu (Dong Haichuan's disciple) and Gong Baotian was Gong Baoshan's younger brother. Gong Baotian prior to introduction to Yin Fu learned Bagua from his brother Gong Baoshan. Gong Baoshan had a great gongfu skills in Bagua Quan, so did his disciple Gong Tuzi.
The story goes that after GM Jiang Hualong won a fight with Gong Baoshan's disciple Gong Tuzi, Gong Tuzi went to Gong Baotian and asked him to fight Jiang Hualong in order to save face. Gong Baotian challenged Jiang Hualong but Jiang Hualong refused.

Best regards,
Ilya Profatilov

Eight_Triagram_Boxer
02-26-2002, 10:21 AM
Thanks Ilya,