PDA

View Full Version : Terrorism and Buddhism

NYerRoman
02-26-2002, 10:09 AM
AMITABHA.
I saw a few weeks ago a thread relating buddhism and the events of September...and the possible points of view of buddhist thought pertaining to the US response.
In the replies, all basically stated that the we, the US, must fight back and no one really expanded on philosophy to justify it.
I'm not an expert in Ch'an Buddhism as I read much on it and cannot practice. I live in Rome and the Church is just too dominant.

Now, in buddhist circles and in philosophy, bad must be punished. But has everyone forgotten reaon and logic? I was back in NY when it all happened. I was born and raised in NYC. That day ripped my heart out.
But has anyone asked him/herself why such an event happened? Don't reply that they're evil and we're good. No. That is simplistic and just plain dumb and easy for many in our society that do not look outside the confines and see what foreign policy with a kick ass military does in the world. We all need to sleep at night knowing we are strong and doing good in the world because it's easier.

In the course of nature and life, things happen for a reason, a precedent, or a reponse to something that evokes an emotional or physical reaction. Religion is a strong catalyst for evoking violent responses. Yes. But I am not one who abides by the logic that those who do not like the US are merely jealous of us because "we made it and they didn't (Mike Wallace on 60 Minutes).

We must look beyond the immediate feelings we have and ask ourselves the most important questions about the US role in the world given the buddhist nature of the forum.
- Have we become in harmony with the world? No. Granted it is very difficult given international relations.
- Does the US act taking into consideration people's well being from different lands, especially in the developing world? No. Sorry but it doesn't.