PDA

View Full Version : Question about Lexington KY

Just_a_Bill
03-04-2002, 12:40 PM
Hello,
I am 24 years old and I live in Lexington KY.* I am very interested in getting into a martial art.* I am hoping to find something that places a big emphasis on protecting ones self in a street defense situation.* I am relatively new to the Lexington area and I was hoping that someone on this forum would be able to point me in the right direction. *

Thanks *

Just_a_Bill

Kuen
03-04-2002, 02:12 PM
I train Ving Tsun Kuen (Wing Chun) in Georgetown, Kentucky which is only about 10 minutes up I-75. We are a branch of Moy Yat Ving Tsun Kung Fu schools. If you want anymore details email me HERE (cmbowm2@email.uky.edu). There is not much in the way of quality Kung Fu in this area as a matter of fact ours is the only traceable Chinese martial art lineage I know for a fact to be legitimate.

For more information on the style look here:
Moy Yat Ving Tsun Kung Fu (http://www.kungfu-videos.com/)

BeiKongHui
03-04-2002, 05:49 PM
Whatever you do: AVOID SHAOLIN-DO LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!
Now, the University of Kentucky has some clubs such as Judo, Kendo, Aikido, Submission Wrestling, fencing and some more, if you're a student (some are open to everyone) and they're all pretty good with the exceptions of the Shaolin-Do and Shaolym-Ryu clubs.
Stay away from Rick Lewis' Tae Kwon Do, Shaolin Kempo or Four Seasons.
Try Trinn's Karate they are supposed to be pretty good also there is Dragon Kung Fu which teaches WuShu, Kickboxing, Tai Chi, Bagua and Zingyi. There are a lot of con artists in the martial arts here so do a good background check. There is also a good Western Boxing school here called Legends you may wish to check out.

Ray Pina
03-05-2002, 07:14 AM