PDA

View Full Version : Ranges? what is your take?

gazza99
03-06-2002, 04:13 PM
Being a student of a few arts, I have heard some contradicting things, as a young teacher I have my own take but Ill get to that later.
1. How does your kwoon describe the different fighting ranges?

2.Do your techniques, or mindset vary depending on what range you are in?

3.Which range are you more comfortable in,

4. which range do you spend the least amount of time in?

5. " " " " " " " "most amount of time in?

Now Ill answer my own questions.
I believe that a fight happens in a phone booth, and if you have to worry to much about ranges you are not complete, and you are setting yourself up to fail. But being aware of them is good.

1. I describe the ranges as SNAFU (situation normal all F##### up), TARFU (Things are really F##### up), and FUBAR (you know this one), or Yellow, green, red, depending on the audience.
SNAFU is when we are not within range of striking each other with anything (unless you count throwing/shooting things) This is the stage when you can just walk away or try and reason out the situation.
TARfU is when we are in striking range but only with the feet, this allows for better reaction time (unless your fighting chuck norris!) Also my hand can touch the arm of the attacker if in a stance, but they cannot yet punch me without moving in.
FUBAR is up close and personal, this is when chokes, locks, throws, and nasty one-inch punches, and elbows come into play, of course grappling fits into this catagory as well, but that is a whole other thread.

2. My mindset at SNAFU is a reasoning one, very yin.
My mindset at TARFU is KILL , KILL , KILL, if they flinch or sneeze..KILL!!! Talking is over at this point They are now completly in my peripherial vision as soon as they enter this range as a threat I engage.