PDA

View Full Version : For women martial artists

wild child
03-08-2002, 11:38 AM
With out sounding too personal, do you use a sports bra or other protective equipment for you chest?

I am a martial arts teacher, and recently have taken on a number of young women as students.

Should I advise them to wear protective equipment or for them to need a more supportive bra?

thanks in advance for your help

regards,

wild child

JasBourne
03-08-2002, 11:56 AM
If your school teaches any kind of sparring or two person drills, the answer is a resounding yes, for two reasons:

1) obviously, to protect the breasts
2) to lower the inhibition levels of the male sparring partners.

Seriously. I cannot tell you how much training time I've wasted because the fella I'm sparring with is afraid to accidentally touch my breasts. I finally just made it a point to always wear the small plastic bra inserts as a matter of course, and whenever I feel the guy holding back, audibly thump the inserts and say with a big smile, "don't worry, I have tits of steel". Works every time. :)

For serious full-on sparring, I wear a polyethylene molded shield that protects the abdomen and sternum area as well.

Here's a really great woman-owned MA supply store, they have all kinds of female-specific gear: http://hometown.aol.com/chajonshim/women.html

old jong
03-08-2002, 12:06 PM
:D ...I'm sure the guy is not shy anymore after a line like that! ;)

Nexus
03-08-2002, 05:18 PM
You'd never catch me saying "I have balls of steel" to my female training partners. Heh!

- Nexus

SaMantis
03-08-2002, 05:48 PM
Hi --

I wear a sports bra even in regular class. Keeps everything in place and minimizes distractions.