PDA

View Full Version : Horse Stance Training

tenchi
02-18-2001, 02:42 PM
As a beginner I dont know how long one should practice stance training ever day. Someone suggest hold it for 10 minutes a day. Does anyone else have any idea and like to hear what kind of time you devote to stances as well as forms.

nospam
02-18-2001, 08:54 PM
First off, ask your teacher. Second, practise as much as you like. Make sure you have certain goals for practising besides just running through patterns so you don't forget them. Take certain lines from your patterns or various moves and practise blending them into attacks using a heavy bag at first, then with a training partner.

I personally do not believe in static stance training except on the odd occasion. I see it being more important to incorporate stance work as you train your patterns and two-person drills. Ask yourself what it is you want to train or get out of a particular workout. Practise is one thing, training is a different thing. Both should lead to enhanced understanding through the setting of specific goals.

Train hard and smart.

Water Dragon
02-19-2001, 04:28 AM
If you can physically hold a horse stance for 10 minutes, you are either superman or not doing it correctly. I can barely make it 3 myself.

Although there are many styles, they all depend on the strong beating the weak and the slow falling to the quick. These are not related to the power that must be learned -- Taiji Classics

Quan
02-19-2001, 08:22 AM
Tang shou,