PDA

View Full Version : Would anyone study Tai Chi/Pa-Kua/Hsing-I with this school/instructor?

FullCircle
03-11-2002, 02:22 PM
Hello, I am a transplanted martial artist who studied in Washington State. I moved to Davenport Iowa to attend Chiropractic school. Recently I came across a school and instructor who claims to teach Tai Chi/Hsing-I/Pa-Kua but he claims that Chi is a "fraud" and belongs to some "James Randi foundation" which will offer someone 1 million dollars to prove that Chi can exist. He claims that so far everyone has failed. I think in the end he is just being disrespectful. Can someone please tell me what they think of his website/school? The site is www.Kungfu4u.com. Thank you. Lonnie Ellismann

dwid
03-11-2002, 02:31 PM
This guy is affiliated with Sin The (the Shaolin-Do) guy and David Carradine. His views on qi aside, there's no way you should train with him.

I found this contact info. on a list of Bagua schools on Kaboom.com. This guy is in Davenport. I'd suggest looking into this before going to the school you posted:

Andrew Glover 3308 18th St. Davenport IA 52804
319-386-7204

Brad
03-11-2002, 04:24 PM
It doesn't say that Sin The is his main teacher, just his first. What's wrong with being honest about who you studied with? Honestly, I think the two of you are being very unfair to someone who you've never met. I really don't see anything "fishy" at all. How is stating his beliefs about chi being disrespectful? Why don't you talk with him before making judgements? I don't see any obvious lies on his website about lineage and stuff. And he learned from someone who learned from Chen Xiaowang. That's not bad. All I'm saying is check the guy out.

red_fists
03-11-2002, 04:30 PM
Hi.

I know a few good internal MA that doubt the existence of Qi.

So I reckon check the Guy out and see what gives.

What you most probably will find is that the doesn't believe in the mystical Qi abilities (ala Mr. Mooney. etc).