PDA

View Full Version : Where do you focus when fighting?

TaoBoy
03-11-2002, 09:30 PM
When facing an opponent, where are you taught to focus?
In answering could you please indicate your style?

I am a SPM student and we are taught to focus on the sternum. From there we can see any arm movement (often indicating strikes) and body movement (often indicating kicks or steps).

I know Wing Chun teaches to focus on the elbows. Could anyone explain this theory?

Also, does anyone focus on the eyes? Has this caused any problems?

Thanks in advance!

Justa Man
03-11-2002, 09:35 PM
i gaze at the chest and shoulders to pick up movement. the last man who though i was gazing too high and wouldn't pick up his front heel kick took my knuckles on the top of his foot. hee-haw!!!

gazza99
03-11-2002, 10:11 PM
I gaze to the side, or over the shoulder of the opponent.
If you use your peripherial vision and keep your eyes centered on the chest, you are not using your peripherial vision as well to look at the chest . What the whole body is doing is just as imporant as the appendages.
Also this helps me to be more aware of my surroundings, and not focus on just that one person, should somone else come into play.
It comes down to personal taste, and a bit of science comes into play on how the eyes and brain work. Ive heard the scientific explanation on why my method may work better... im sure someone else can explain it better, I dont remember the exact details, something about rods , cones, neural pathways...etc...
Regards,
Gary

jon
03-11-2002, 11:26 PM
gazza99
Ive been taught in my Hung Ga to do the same thing, the explanation i was given is that it lets you see the body as a whole rather than focussing on particular parts of it. It has worked well for me in sparring though needless to say its hard to do all the time.

TaoBoy
03-11-2002, 11:38 PM