PDA

View Full Version : Question on class sizes

Mannek
03-13-2002, 08:47 AM
Hello, little about me : I'm really new to martial arts. Of course ive watched movies all my life, etc, but neverbecame as interested in doing one as I am now. Anyway, Ive decided I would like to learn Kung Fu for several reasons. One, it has both external and internal aspects, two, it is (hopefully) and authentic art, and three to help develope some form of self defense other than simply wailing on someone as Ive always done in those situations.

My question is regardign the first school ive taken a look at. I noticed the Sifu payed great attention to his visitors, and mainly corrected his senior students on technique as they practiced with intermediate students. I am wondering if class size should be taken into account. Even if the Sifu has great accomplishments, those only become a benefit to me if they are passed on. My question is, can I still learn as much as i need to in a class of 15 - 20 or should I be looking for soemthign smaller?

Thanks in advance for replies.

BeiTangLang
03-13-2002, 09:31 AM
I am just guessing, but there is a good chance that he was correcting the new students while they worked with senior students. Having New students work one-on-one with more senior students is a good teaching technique no matter what level you are at.
As far as what class size, I suppose it would depend upon the instructor. Do the student all learn well at the same time, or are there several of them standing around wasting train-time?
Our Kwoon handles up to 30-35 per class well because we have senior students come in to work with sidai. It is both a learning(technique for the younger, how to teach+extra workout time for the older) experience & a teaching ecperience for those involved.
I know it was a long answer, but bottom line is, observe the class & see how the Sifu handles things.
Best Wishes,
BTL

Erisson
03-13-2002, 09:40 AM