PDA

View Full Version : Grappling(JuJitsu) Vs Wing Chun

tiger7
03-15-2002, 11:49 AM
Greetings My Kung Fu Brothers:)

I'm a student of Wing Chun and at my school we are not the majority of the population of students. Guys from other classes such Muay Thai(which I use to tkae but found very boring but I did develop a strong kick and proper boxing techniques), and especially Jujitsu. I heard one guy say yeah I might try Wing Chun but hey it won't help you on the ground. I said to myself how can you say Wing Chun won't help you on the ground when you don't know anything about the art. In other words at my school we are viewed as the odd fellows most of the time. I'm a technical person(Computer Programmer) and I find Wing Chun interesting because first it's a thinking man art and secondly it's sensitivity attributes and thirdly it is technical. I'm just now slowly moving toward the Chum Kui level and my Sifu emphasises to me is to perfect "The Little Idea" section as I progress along. What attributes of Wing Chun could defend yourself when facing a grappler(Jujitsu). I was also thinking about taking some Aikido on the side due to some of the trapping I noticed in that art. What do you guys suggest?

Alpha Dog
03-15-2002, 12:01 PM
It's just not taught to beginners.

tiger7
03-15-2002, 12:10 PM
Hmmmm it's amazing how someone can determine whether you are a beginner or not which was not my question so I hope someone other that this Dog head dufus can give me a more intelligent insight than there is grappling in Wing Chun but uhhhh not for beginners.

Alpha Dog
03-15-2002, 12:17 PM
Originally posted by tiger7

I'm just now slowly moving toward the Chum Kui level and my Sifu emphasises to me is to perfect "The Little Idea" section as I progress along. What do you guys suggest?

I suggest you stay with Wing Chun and learn all it has in it.

Spark
03-15-2002, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by tiger7