PDA

View Full Version : Training both sides

Kungfu boy
03-17-2002, 02:27 AM
Do you guys train one side more than the other in regards to strikes? I imagine you have a prefered kick, most of the people I train with prefer their right kicks over their lefts. And some of their kicks are so far apart on the power scale. Their right is real fast but their left lags behind. Ya know what I mean?

Later Guys

Kungfu Boy

Sho
03-17-2002, 04:37 AM
Yes I train both sides, but often I tend to focus on the right side more.

NPMantis
03-17-2002, 09:42 AM
Everyone has a better side, I always try to train my worst side more (left) but it's always hard as it doesn't feel so natural as the other one.

Maybe one day it'll be my best side if I train it enough?

Tvebak
03-17-2002, 10:47 AM
When i started training i liked to do spagat/frontsplit with my left leg in front, so i trained it a lot with my right leg...today i have allmost equal flexibility with both legs.
In capoeira using both sides equally is very important, so this i have taken with me to all the other activities i do, even xingyi i do all things normal in class, and practise the forms the other way at home...it feels best this way for me.
The exeption is Gatkha, for some reason i train this only right hand:sword left:shield.

Sharky
03-17-2002, 11:13 AM
I work my right side more. However i am right handed and left footed, so things are strange for me. Stance wise, i still have left foot forward, and i have left guard forward. I work my right side more, but occationally, i'll have a "revelation" on how the mechanics of something works, like, i could never do a left hook, and suddenly it all clicks and i can do them with a more respectable amount of power - still not as strong as my right, but i feel confortable throwing them.

In "anger" i will always flail my right out mainly. I should train to take advantage of my left footedness [sic] but hey, no ones perfectomondo.