PDA

View Full Version : Training Against Your Environment

HuangKaiVun
03-19-2002, 08:48 PM
I know that at least a few of you train against the objects in your environment.

The thing that I work the most on is footwork. Because my belief is that good stepping is the cornerstone of avoiding confrontation altogether, I constantly practice rolling out of bed, getting in and out of chairs, going to the ground, etc . . .

Sometimes, I'll smack a wall. I don't do it with just my fists - I do it with shoulder, butt, knees, elbows, back, even head. When I studied my old style, I was supposed to be hitting heavy bags. Instead, I used to smack brick walls. I still do nowadays.

I also am working on creating a personalized set in which anything can be used as a weapon. Whenever I can, I practice using my pens and books and clothes and such.

Every time I see a freestanding bar, I treat it a bit like a Wing Chun mok yan jong (wooden dummy) and start doing sensitivity drills on it. Sometimes I jam the bar isometrically, other times I'll grapple the bar, often I'll thread around the bar to openings.

At this point in my training, I'm starting to feel as I'm "practicing" even when I'm sitting at this computer posting obsessively on KFO! From my current stance (seated, left knee up), I can block and attack and get in and out of my chair at will.

What about you guys? Any suggestions?

Justa Man
03-19-2002, 09:02 PM