PDA

View Full Version : Website with video clips!

PJO
03-20-2002, 03:32 PM
Check out this website http://www.fareastfightingarts.com/ It has video clips of different animal techniques when you click on the Chinese symbols. Let me know what everyone thinks!

Dronak
03-20-2002, 04:09 PM
Interesting. I'm pretty new to MA so I don't have a whole lot to say about it. One thing that I noticed was that all of the initial responses were basically the same -- one arm blocks the punch and one leg kicks as a counter attack. Not always the same arm and leg, but the same general initial response. It also looked like the guy was pulling his strikes rather far from the attacker's body and naturally he didn't want to beat the guy up for real. But to my untrained eye it was a little hard to catch the effectiveness of some of the strikes when they were pulled so far from the striking point. Just me? And a question -- what was with that arm waving/circling stuff between the initial response to the attack and the arm grab/lock that followed? Did it serve a purpose I couldn't see? Just my newbie thoughts on the clips. :)

PJO
03-20-2002, 04:20 PM
Of course he had to pull a lot of things back so as not to injure the other person. The hands on the mantis technique are what's called dragging hands. The fingers rake through the attackers face and eyes distracting him further.

norther practitioner
03-20-2002, 04:54 PM
Ah, yes, in the shaolin forum...watch out for the skeptics....I'll keep it to a minimum here, however, watch out in the other forum. Hey dronak, good to see you, oh, and don't take anything personally here PJO.

Dronak
03-20-2002, 07:15 PM