PDA

View Full Version : Hsing Yi and Ba Gua

friday
03-27-2002, 04:52 AM
can ppl tell me what differentiates between these two internal styles? what are the principles of each style? how many forms? type of training?

thanks

jon
03-27-2002, 06:22 AM
Hi friday
thats a complicated question as it depends a LOT on linage
Bagua is typified by using circular force and active footwork.
Xing Yi is typified by using linear force and secure footwork.

The forms vary from linage to linage and in my Bagua we only have the one long form. From this you can then break the system down into many smaller forms and even various animals if you wish.
XingYi tends to consist of many short sets as opposed to single long sets like Tai Chi or Bagua.
I cant be to specific as im not a Bagua expert and i dont study Xing Yi. Still thats a brief overview.
Hope it helps

Ray Pina
03-27-2002, 07:32 AM
From my limited understanding, what I have learned from my master in the past 14 months is this (but please note I am not taught through form, but theory and application, and material is not always seperated as this and that, just an idea that works):

Hsing-I, and to me, when I think of Hsing-I I think Drilling Fist and Splitting fist, is a very direct aproach to fighting. It utilizes core hand/forearm positions that are inherantly strong by their shape, by the muscles being utilized. I argued with someone here about this the other day, that tricep power is rediculously weak. SHoulder, upper back, latts, power, that is what is being used. Drilling fist simply deflects imcoming blows outward and downward by it wedge shape all the while attacking inward. This is coupled with ones body weight through driving off the compressed back leg/hip.

Splitting fist comes off of internal two hand shielding, tremendous downward power opens and pins.