PDA

View Full Version : Good schools / masters in San Diego, Ca?

BigWave
03-28-2002, 09:10 PM
Can anyone recommend any good kung fu schools or masters to study with in San Diego.

I'm new to Kung Fu and was wondering if there is some great wisdom out there?

Thanks,
Dave

Black Jack
03-28-2002, 09:16 PM
My best friend lives in Point Loma, he is a martial artist and knows a LOT of the schools and teachers down in that area, maybe I can help you?

I know of a very good 7 Star Mantis guy who really trains to fight down their in that neck of the woods, their is also a Southern Dragon teacher, White Eyebrow, Wing Chun, Choy Lay Fut, White Tiger, Kenpo, Ninjitsu, Aikido, Tai Chi, Hsing-I, good Muay Thai, Great JKD Concept schools, Excellent Judo/Ju Jitsu clubs, Boxing, Shooto, let me know what you are interested in and I will get reviews if I can and tell you where they are.

BigWave
03-28-2002, 09:40 PM
Thanks for the quick reply Black Jack!

I'm not quite sure which style is best. I'd like to take a style that has alot of variety to it. Something with both hard and soft styles.

I'd also like to learn a style that would be suited at some point for comp. sparring if I eventually decide to go in that direction.

From what I've heard Choy Lay Fut, Hsing-I and Shoalin sound interesting.

Kempo Guy
03-28-2002, 09:51 PM
If you're looking for a Kung Fu school, I'd recommend Mike Patterson's school in La Mesa. He teaches Xing Yi as well as Tai Ji.
You can find out more at: http://www.hsing-i.com/

If you aren't necessarily set on traditional Kung Fu, I'd also recommend checking into Ron Harris' school in San Diego. I believe he teaches JKD Concepts, Filipino Martial Arts and BJJ.
His schools link is: http://www.royharris.com/

There's other teachers that are pretty good like: Sam Kuoha (Kara Ho Kempo) in El Cajon, there's a CHA3 Kempo school in SD as well.

Good luck.

KG

Black Jack
03-29-2002, 09:45 AM