PDA

View Full Version : IronFist vs. Wing Chun forum

IronFist
04-02-2002, 10:37 PM
Hey, let's play make a deal. Instead of telling me how unsuccessful I will be with my chosen method of learning, can you instead stick to just helping me out, or at least answering my questions? (You know, I could really be a 60 year old WC guru and I'm just testing all of your knowledge by asking basic questions. haha, or not :D ) Sorry if there's no WC in my area (my area = a 1 hour radius by car).

I like WC because it's a cool art. I don't like TKD or Shotokan or X art, so I'm not going to study those. If you wanted to learn a foreign language and thought Russian was cool, and the only languages any schools in your area offered were Spanish and German, and you wanted to learn Russian, would you settle for Spanish or German? No. Because you don't have interest there.

I'm not a total newbie to martial arts or physical culture, plus I think I have the aptitude to learn at least somewhat successfully from videos and books. Granted, most of the videos I've seen are bits of this and pieces of that, but the people here who are cool enough to give me straight up answers have totally helped. Seriously, I've learned more here than from any books on WC I've seen. Indeed, I think I can safely say every book on WC I've seen sucks (if you want names, I don't remember, but go to Borders and look there. Those are the ones I've seen).

I've even got a few MA's here to do drills with, and a TKD guy back home I can do chi sao with. Yes, he's TKD, but he's got 10+ years at a hard ass school that's definately not a McDojo. This guy is brimming with talent. I taught him single hand chi sao a few weeks ago, but haven't been able to practice much cuz he went on a trip. But hey, feel free to tell me how you're sure we're doing it wrong because we didn't learn from a teacher.