PDA

View Full Version : How to train for multiple opponents

Mr.Sleazy
04-04-2002, 03:22 PM
I am just starting out training in MA, but I already have some admittedly hide-bound opinions. One of these is that combative training needs to be done with partners who are resisting - sparring. I think that sparring is one of the essential training tools for one-on-one combat.

Where this seems to fall down, however, is the multiple attacker scenario. Sparring with 2 or more opponents I think would be pretty dangerous, on both sides, just because things get much more unpredictable in that situation. In 1 on 1 sparring, injuries are generally avoided because certain techniques are restricted (eg elbows) and control is better. Sparring 2 or more I think it would be much harder to stay in control and not hurt someone or be hurt. But if 2 on 1 sparring is dangerous, how to train this?

And no I have not done any 2 on 1 sparring.

Interested to hear other opinions on this.

_________
Thats MR. Sleazy to you!

ewallace
04-04-2002, 03:32 PM
I think 2 on 1 sparring is a very good thing to train. It gets you familiar with having to think about more than one person attacking you. Sure you can't use all the techniques that you would probably use in a real situation, but having seen it before does prepare you a little better for a real multiple attack situation. Especially if you concentrate on one of them for too long. Good lessons to be learned there. You do have to have two people you trust to controll themselves if it is outside of class.

fmann
04-04-2002, 10:59 PM
Practicing the 2 on 1 teaches you 2 really good lessons, too:

1. Movement is the key in multiple attackers. Don't need any flashy flying kicks or anything like that. Simple moving and punching can easily do the job. KISS and run - keep it simple stupid and run run run when you can!