PDA

View Full Version : Health Question/Advice

Sihing73
04-09-2002, 09:46 PM
Hello,

For those not familiar with me I am a Wing Chun stylist. I also do a kali type of art known as Pekiti Tirisia. I have just over 18 years of training in Wing Chun.

I have always had back problems, a curvature of the spine. It has never really been too noticable and never stopped me from doing anything. I have served in the US Army and in Law Enforcement.

Anyhow here is my question:

I have recently be diagnosed with some degenerative disc problems in my lower back. I have a herniated disc for which I will undergo surgery later this month. I am not seeking sympathy here but some serious advice. I fully intend to continue my martial arts training and was wondering if anyone had some serious suggestions, and knowledge which would be beneficial to my situation. I was thinking of trying Tai Chi or perhaps Hsing Yi I already do Jum Jong although hardly like I should. If anyone knows of or can suggest anyone who could be of help in training me in the Philadlephia area I would be much appreciative.

Please feel free to e-mail me as I may not be checking the boards as much depending on how I feel.

Sihing73@juno.com.

Thanks in advance.

Dave

Daniel Madar
04-10-2002, 02:06 AM
Dave,

Sorry to hear that. When I started taiji I was in the formative phase of emphysema, and it helped out with that to the point that there is no evidence I had it.

I suggest you check www.hsing-i.com, it has a teachers list. If you are anywhere near being able to commute to DC/Maryland--its far, but it might be worth it--you can get in touch with Ken Fish at www.emptyflower.com. He is not only an internalist, but a medical doctor as well.

Good luck,

Daniel

Sihing73
04-10-2002, 07:32 AM
Hi Daniel,

Thanks for the reply. I will check both. DC/Maryland is a bit far for me but I currently travel, prior to all of this, to NYC regularily.

Bottom line, if it helps I'll make the trip.

Thanks again.

Peace,

Dave