PDA

View Full Version : Wing Chun Riddle

Ray Pina
04-10-2002, 07:24 AM
OK, this is for lower- to Mid-level WC players.

If your style's mantra is: The shortest distance between two points is a straight line.

Why then, when someone is on top of your bridge, do you run the hand?

OK senior guys, don't help out your younger brothers just yet, let them do their home work.

black and blue
04-10-2002, 07:48 AM
Their bridge on mine is a superior position for their attacks.
My bridge being below their bridge limits my attacks to low level, rather than the face. Whether a straight line is available or not (to me), they have the advantage defending and attacking... as far as I can tell :(

Ray Pina
04-10-2002, 07:57 AM
We all start somewhere. I'm black and blue a bit myself from last night's training. I'm studying internal now and am of a low level in that regard.

I'll give a few more poeple a chance, and then I'll post you back about how strong of a position you actually are in right there.

Nice meeting you :)

black and blue
04-10-2002, 08:06 AM
Another Wing Chunner post to flay me!

I tend to feel in a dominant position (for example), using fook sau on opponents tan sau. Of course, this might just be a case of laziness on my part - 'tis always easier resting on someone else's bridge :)

Perhaps my answer relates to pinning/pressing, where, more often than not, you're covering your opponents bridge (can't imagine pinning someone from underneath).

Then again, maybe my inexperience is what leads to my battered state every week :D

Duncan

Ps. EF - good to hear you're still training HARD when training SOFT. How about getting some pics/mpegs up on your Sifu's site?

dezhen2001
04-10-2002, 08:40 AM
if you're talking about something like Bong Sau, and their hands are both on top of you, then surely the Bong can be the superior position... You're controling their arm so they can't hit and if it moves you can move right in.