PDA

View Full Version : Nobody lives forever!

AndyM
04-14-2002, 04:11 PM
Hi guys, gals n confused people,

I started training Wing Chun six months ago. Though I have been involved in another Chinese style for a while. I have a question I was hoping you might help me with.

I'd say I was of average intelligence, with an average capacity to learn. I'm 34 y/o but I can only get to one lesson a week. I am training with Samuel Kwok in the UK, who seems very, very good, and I am finding the classes I attend very enjoyable.

My question is; how long do you think it will take me to learn the three main forms ( I practice as much as I can )?

If this question is of no interest to you, then perhaps you could tell me, how long before I have an 'average' standard of Chi Sau?

Sorry, if these are selfish questions, but if you don't ask..........you don't get!

Thanks,

AndyM

yenhoi
04-14-2002, 05:04 PM
6 months.

CanadianBadAss
04-14-2002, 10:24 PM
I'd say more like 6 months and 2 days, give or take an hour

gnugear
04-14-2002, 11:02 PM
I think it took about 9 moths to get to chi sao ... maybe even a year.

I'm going on 3+ years of training, and still only do the first two forms.

We move at a slow and steady pace.

AdrianUK
04-15-2002, 02:43 AM
Heres my 2 cents

Go through the motions of all 3 forms, if you worked hard maybe 3 months, to apply and understand them, years !

I am at the 4 year mark and can just about apply chum kiu, as for chi sao its the same really, get rolling fairly quickly , apply after maybe a year, use effectively, well I have not got there yet !

Main thing is to work hard and think about each move as a move, not just a motion in the air, keep the application in focus as you train

Good Luck

Dave Farmer
04-15-2002, 03:17 AM
Hi Andy.

IMHO, it all depends on the individual.

If you apply your training and allow the Chi Sau to develop at a natural rate you will progress just fine.