PDA

View Full Version : Keeping previous rank.

red_fists
04-14-2002, 04:36 PM
Hi All.

Here is anothre thing that occassionally pops up especially in JMA, not sure how common in CMA.
Especially with the MMA and trend of cross-training.

Joe Doe gets a 1st BB/Rank in MA XYZ and than decides to learn a new system.

Should he be recognised for his rank and continue to show his rank, or should he be treated as a total newcomer and start right from he beginning like a total newbie to MA.

IMO, any new student should be treated the same and no previous ranks or achievements should intrude into the new style.

I have seen some schools that not only even allowed them to show rank, but also to skip a frew grades due to their MA experience.

What are your thoughts on this?
Does your Sifu treat Students from other styles differently than newcomers?

gazza99
04-14-2002, 04:44 PM
First you need to ask if the new style taken up is remotly similar to the previous one. The principles of movment, power generation...etc.. may be completely different.
However if the principles are similar, as well as many of the movements, I dont know if it would matter what rank the person kept. They would simply advance faster only becuase they were able to learn faster.
If you start another system you should expect to learn all of its basics, and be treated no differently. However without being able to wear your rank you may not be given the due respect from your new training parteners, they may just treat you like a newbie. This is the only downfall I can see to not maintaining your rank.
Another factor may be your reason for taking up the new system, if you only want to compare and contrast the upper level methods with your current ones, you may need to beg the question and see if you can at least learn more advanced stuff.

regards,
Gary

yenhoi
04-14-2002, 04:46 PM