PDA

View Full Version : Please help me with some explanations

scotty1
04-18-2002, 04:05 AM
Please could somebody explain/correct my definition of the following:

I know Jing is a store (finite) of something (what?) that you are born with, that is depleted by various activities. Can it be regenerated? And how does it relate to....

Chi? Post and pre-natal? I don't quite understand. :confused:

And Shen (spirit?) Is this linked to Chi and Jing?

Please help, as I am having difficulty following some of the debates on this board!

Thanks for your time

Scott:)

dezhen2001
04-18-2002, 06:16 AM
Where's Nexus and Repulsive Monkey when u need them? :D
I'm sure those guys will come thru for ya!

Here goes as far as i can remember: I'm just learning these things now

Prenatal Qi: sometimes called 'true Qi' and it's what you get from your parents when u r born.

Postnatal Qi: the Qi you gather from the likes of eating, breathing, training - from around you.

Not too sure on Jing, Qi and Shen... i know they have to do with cultivation, kinda like 'levels' of cultivation maybe...

cheers,
david

scotty1
04-18-2002, 08:53 AM
Cheers David

As well as the questions I posted above, the question I would ask from your info is what is the relationship between post/prenatal chi and Jing?

dezhen2001
04-18-2002, 12:08 PM
Scotty - i don't have a clue :D

david

prana
04-18-2002, 04:51 PM
The lower centers is life energy given to you by your mother, or the female principle.

Shen is indestructable energy that is knotted inside your heart, in this context, but usually it is just called "heart". It is the combination of male and female principles.

When your lower energies enter your avadhuti (Chong David ?) it becomes wisdom.

Now for the Daoist views (correct me if I am wrong RM, Nexus), is it correct to say that Jing, when entering the median nerve (Chong??) turns into Qi. However, instead of using Jing, it can also be cultivated by breathing, eating live foods, etc.