PDA

View Full Version : Chin Na in the Mantis

PJO
04-22-2002, 01:44 PM
Can anyone recommend a good site for the Chin Na done by the Mantis? The mantis I am studying has a great deal of Chin Na and pressure points. I know a lot of Chin Na is done from the Crane/Eagle claw styles but are there any books or website detailing Chin Na as it relates to the Mantis?

MightyB
04-23-2002, 12:02 PM
I've heard that pretty much all northern Kung Fu styles share 72 common chin na techniques and that Eagle Claw is the most advanced because it has 108 techniques. So, any good book or tape on Chin Na should be beneficial.

mantis108
04-23-2002, 02:41 PM
The objectives of Chin Na are:

1. Dividing the muscle/tendon
2. Displacing the bone/joint
3. Sealing the breath (choke holds)
4. Cavity Press - pressure ponit strike to disrubing the blood circulation.

There are only so many ways or so many angles the limbs (or the body for that matter) to respond to; therefore, much of the Chin Na techniques, especially the finishing holds, are similar if not the same. ie armbar, wrist lock, etc. Having said that it doesn't mean that there are no style specific "moves" to get "there". One that comes into mind would be Mantis Catches Ciccada (Tanglang Pu Chan) in TJPM. BTW, Tanglang Pu Chan and Gwa Fu Pu Chan is not the same move/application in TJPM.

Mantis108

Mantis9
04-23-2002, 04:57 PM
Mantis108 is correct. Chin Na has somewhat a universal application of techniques found throughout all MA. The question I believe you may be asking (I could be wrong:) ) is how the PM exponent approaches Chin Na?

Mantis108 alluded to it when mentioning the movement Mantis Catches Cicada. I find that in the PM continuum, chin na is pervasive within the system. Almost every technique that I can think of directly or indirectly lends itself to a seizing, controlling of joints, muscles, choking, etc.