PDA

View Full Version : Video Recomendations?

dnc101
05-04-2002, 05:05 PM
I am a student of American Kenpo, but due to the fact that my school is over 120 mi. away I have to rely on a lot of other sources for training. I have a lot of videos and books on Kenpo (and other styles) in general. But I'm thinking of getting a set on techniques. Do any of you know of a particular set that you would recomend? I want to find an instructor/author who presents the techniques clearly and is able to dissect the movements and principles. I'm under the NWKKA, but would consider tapes from other lineages. For example, Tracy's style is close enough to be usefull but different enough to be interesting; and the Tracy folks really get into breaking things down.

GeneChing
05-06-2002, 09:44 AM
I know very little about kenpo so I'm stumped as to what to recomend. Maybe if you gave me a better idea of what you are looking for...

FWIW, Ed Parker Jr. is scheduled to appear at our 10 Year Anniversary Party. http://ezine.kungfumagazine.com/ezine/10yr/index.html

No_Know
05-06-2002, 06:04 PM
My comprehension, the Chinese swords tend to be flexible to reduce the likeliness of having them locked.

Staves can hit around close blocks.

Swords are not designed to do all sword techniques well. Chinese straight swords slash. In general, Chinese broadswords cut.

Some are designed to hack/chop. But for what this thread's initial post addressed. Those swords are for simulating techniques of deflect, cut, block, slash.

Thrusts can be done with at least some of the materials but it might take high skill to maintain a thrust.

dnc101
05-06-2002, 10:08 PM
Gene,

Thanks for the reply.