PDA

View Full Version : Similarities Between Boxing and Wing Chun

ReverendTim
05-08-2002, 05:11 PM
Hey, all...

I was at the library today, trying to get some writing done away from my wife cleaning house and my baby boy hollering about it, and while taking a break and wandering the stacks, I came across a nice little boxing instruction manual.

I've never formally boxed Western-style, though in the distant past, I studied at more than one MA school where no matter what techniques you practiced, it all ended up as half-a$$ed boxing in the end. My point is, I'd never stopped to really consider the mechanics of the boxer (yes, I know I should have read The Tao of Jeet Kune Do more closely).

I was immediately struck at some of the similarities between the footwork of boxing and the footwork I've practiced under my wing chun sifu. Obviously, the basic foot position is a little different, and the knees aren't bent inwards, but the basic principles of movement were the same. Ditto for the mechanics of punching. This particular writer stressed not winding up, keeping the arm relaxed, and so on. Even some of his fist positioning was reminiscent of the wing chun punch.

I'm inclined to think that the similarities come from the fact that both systems seek efficiency, and that because of that, the principles, and therefore the motions, will be similar.

Any thoughts?

--
Rev. Tim

anerlich
05-08-2002, 06:10 PM
What was the name of the manual?

IMO Jack Dempsey's "Championship Fighting" has a great deal in common with WC as taught by my Sifu. Significant parts of Tao of JKD were lifted from this book.

ReverendTim
05-08-2002, 07:00 PM
It's called "Boxer's Start-Up: A Beginner's Guide to Boxing" by Doug Werner, published by Tracks Publishing, San Diego CA.

--
Rev. Tim

yuanfen
05-08-2002, 07:20 PM
Boxing and wing chun (in most Yip man lines) are quite different things---sure there is striking and footwork involved. So what.

ReverendTim
05-08-2002, 07:25 PM
Uh, okay.