PDA

View Full Version : Balancing Tai chi practice with wing chun...

monkey man
05-10-2002, 05:01 AM
I was wondering if anyone could give me any help on a query. I've been practicing Wing Chun for a few years now, but have just recently (november) started Tai Chi (yang style short form). In order to avoid mixing up the energy benefits of the two styles, I am trying to get into a routine of practicing the Tai Chi form in the morning and evening, and the Wing Chun forms in the day. Can anyone foresee any problems with this? (In terms of harming my internal energy system?).

Thanks..

Zantesuken
05-10-2002, 01:24 PM
they're similar
you won't damage anything.
well actually it depends on how you practise wing chun but yeah

bamboo_ leaf
05-10-2002, 05:29 PM
No, this is confusion to think this way.

One or the other each is very different.

david

Zantesuken
05-10-2002, 08:34 PM
they have the same principles not the same methods

dedalus
05-11-2002, 01:02 AM
I studied wing chun before moving on to taiji and bagua, and personally found that I had to leave my wing chun behind me. I've written about this elsewhere if you want to do a search, but the gist is that I did not find good taiji to be compatible with good wing chun. This was much more a matter of body mechanics than energy cultivation, in so far as the two are separable.

The upshot is that I don't believe you'll suffer any health problems studying both at once, but you *will* slow down your progress as your body uses one to question the other.

bamboo_ leaf
05-11-2002, 03:24 AM
I also studied praying mantis and TC for a while, I tried to use the TC to supplement and answer questions I had in mantis. I found the same. There is only one chi, the way and how each art makes use of it is very different.
i only play the TC now.

this is only what i have found in my own practice for others it may be differnt.

david

Zantesuken
05-11-2002, 01:33 PM
thanks for the video david!!!!

Ma_Xu_Zha
05-14-2002, 08:39 PM