PDA

View Full Version : Balancing Wing Chun practice with Tai Chi...

monkey man
05-10-2002, 05:03 AM
I was wondering if anyone could give me any help on a query. I've been practicing Wing Chun for a few years now, but have just recently (november) started Tai Chi (yang style short form). In order to avoid mixing up the energy benefits of the two styles, I am trying to get into a routine of practicing the Tai Chi form in the morning and evening, and the Wing Chun forms in the day. Can anyone foresee any problems with this? (In terms of harming my internal energy system?).

Thanks..

dezhen2001
05-10-2002, 05:17 AM
i think that as long as you don't mix up the principles and movements when you are training, then there shouldn't be a problem.

My Sifu teaches both wing chun and Chen taijiquan very successfully. As long as you keep things clear, i don't think there should be a problem.
Just make sure you have enough experience in wing chun as to make that definition though.

good luck :)
taijiquan is very cool,

david

red5angel
05-10-2002, 06:36 AM
Dezhen, I know some top level guys who study both as well, not Yang but Chen style, and they seemed to have integrated the two into thier training side by side with no ill effects, and even to some degree and advantage.

Shadow Dragon
05-10-2002, 06:44 AM
I have heard of some WC schools that first teach a bit of TC and only than start on WC.

dezhen2001
05-10-2002, 06:50 AM
Red5: yup, i can believe it. Like i said as long as everything is clear, then there should be no problems... Chen taijiquan actually looks very beautiful and amazing (also good for retaining balance in combat). I'd love to learn someday :)

david

red5angel
05-10-2002, 07:07 AM
Yep, we use some basics from Chen style to help with balance and rooting. It seems to be helping alot!

dezhen2001
05-10-2002, 07:41 AM
cool, never heard of that, sounds good though.