PDA

View Full Version : Can you help me?

Blackspear
05-14-2002, 10:17 AM
I wanted to know if someone can tell me what chinese word means instructor. I Know that Si-hing is older brother. But my situation is that I recently opened my own school under my sifu and I am trying to find a word by which my students can refer to me by other than sir. And I cant have them call me sifu because one, I am just an instructor and there can only be one sifu in our system. I was going to use Si-Hing but my senior brothers told me I shouldnt because I am their teacher not their older brother but I have been looking all over trying to find a word that means instructor.

I would deeply appreciate your help.
Thank you,

CLFNole
05-14-2002, 11:13 AM
If you run the school and do all of the teaching you should be called sifu. If you run the school under your sifu's name and he comes in and teaches once and a while they should refer to you as sihing.

An instructor can be called a gou neen, however someone wouldn't call you this. Lo si also means teacher, however this is often used for people who teach in schools (education).

Peace

Blackspear
05-14-2002, 01:25 PM
Thanks CLF, I appreciate your time but I disagree because I do Run the school and do all the teaching I still have not earned the title Sifu. Because I am still a student myself and still train under my Sifu in New York. You see what I mean I am an Instructor not a master so which is why I am searching for a word which symbolizes instructor. But I do appreciate your input but my search continues.

MantisWill
05-14-2002, 01:27 PM
Reread his post. They should call you Si Hing.

CLFNole
05-14-2002, 02:07 PM
Blackspear:

Sifu doesn't always mean master. A sifu can still be learning from their own sifu and have a school. My own sifu furthered his teaching when he had a school in his early years.