PDA

View Full Version : My problem with Arrogance...

Brawler_Kid
05-29-2002, 04:06 PM
I have this problem which is very irritating. I first started studying Shaolijn Kung Fu under two VERY competent and humble masters, which I learned alot from, but because of financial reasons (I couldnt keep paying for the classes) I had to leave the training. About a year later, I learned from some schoolteachers that there's a "Self-Defense Program" for those students with scholarships (I have one, thanks to God), so i signed up F-Ing quickly, but I didn't knew that it was on the other school from the same style I previously studied. I was like "THIS IS GOING TO BE AWESOME!!, but when I started practicing the style again, I noticed that this new teacher was a hell of a lot tougher (he is a Si Pok) and his hashiousitais were and are very , and I mean, very arrogant. Maybe it's the fact they are rich kids studying a cool art, or the fact that I'mtaking the class for free, but they are ignoring me to their fullest, I have tried to gain their trust and respect on numerous occations, but have failed. now I think, is this the true way of the Shaolin? One teacher with a lower rank taught me to be humble and another with a higher rank is apparently letting his higher students be arrogant and stuck-up. What are your thoughts on this??

PS. My mother told me to just ignore me and keep the training on a personal level, and that's what I'm following, though it's starnge that the lower rank students are more humble than the more experienced students. I always thought that it was the other way around, that you learn humility with time, if you havent learned it before. I have gained the Si Pok's respect by learning quickly and being very respectful to the other lowered ranked students, I'm actually doing the stuff black sashes are supposed to be doing.

diego
05-29-2002, 04:30 PM
yes i think u should take heed to advice of ya moms, just ignore yourself and nothing can get to you:rolleyes: