PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu Opinions

JFK
05-31-2002, 09:54 AM
Hi all!

I am a shotokan karate practitioner and came to these forums to ask for some opinions.

Usually people are very biased towards their own MA. I guess I too have a bias toward shotokan, since that is what i practice. However , i do discuss and think about other MAs.

My question is this: What to Kung Fu people think of Shotokan Karate?

THanks for your Responses!

ewallace
05-31-2002, 10:53 AM
Welcome to the forum.

Well, I took shotokan for little over a year when I was about 10 years old. I thought it was okay, but the day I stepped into a shaolin longfist school I realized that I'd been wasting my time.

Just my .02

red5angel
05-31-2002, 11:00 AM
JFK - Why dont you tell us a little bit about Shotokan. I studied Shorin Ryu for a while but am not familiar with Shotokan.

old jong
05-31-2002, 11:14 AM
I know that I would not like a good gyaku tsuki from a 4th dan in the solar plexus!
;)
Done by a traditionaly trained guy, these things can hurt!

dezhen2001
05-31-2002, 11:21 AM
Hi JFK :)

I studied Shotokan for 13 years before i met my present Sifu. Personally, i would say that my experiences there gave me a good foundation in general MA practise. Kata Bunkai and Oyo Bunkai were covered as well as competition sparring, which was fun (knockdown and points).
it develops strong stances, strong forearms and is powerful if you train it correctly (meaning application of kata here, not just competition). Strikes, locking, throwing etc. are all there if you examine the kata... but many people do not. I think the UK has a very strong Shotokan background, with the likes of Sensei Enoeda, Ohta and many other KUGB seniors like Frank Brennan, Terry O'Neil etc. I enjoyed and learned many things during my time training (my favourite katas were Bassai Dai, Kanku Dai, Nijushiho, Enpi and Unsu) :)