PDA

View Full Version : Lamar Davis and Vunak "Two of a kind"

williamsremo
06-01-2002, 07:28 AM
I couldn't believe my eyes! I visited Paul Vunak's web site as well as Lamar Davis's and there it was! I could become an instructor of JKD or Jun Fan in only a TWO DAY session! WOW! Now I too can be a bad a#% JKD instructor and lure new students to my school by advertizing that I am a teacher of the system developed by the King of Kung Fu, Bruce Lee. and with only a two day investment plus quite a bit of MONEY! No wonder there are soooo many JKD instructors out there. This is a disgrace!

rogue
06-01-2002, 02:40 PM
I think there's more to it than that. I don't know about Lamars course and can speak for himself here, but you can contact Ryu on the main forum as he is certified under Vunak.

Demi @ CSPT
06-03-2002, 06:35 AM
Nope, that's it!

rogue
06-03-2002, 08:58 AM
Demi, do you mean no prior training under a PFS instructor?:confused:

Ryu
06-03-2002, 12:14 PM
Hi guys. I had prior training in PFS before my IPTP with Vunak. In fact I had a lot, a couple years worth. I recieved a phase 1 instructorship on june 6th, 1998. Paul's teaching method is very unique, and in my mind pretty realistic, but I do believe he doesn't just hand actual teaching certificates out to people who don't deserve them. The apprentice instructorship (of which I thought I was going to get at the time) does NOT certify someone to be a "JKD" instructor. At least that's what was going on at the time. I don't know how things have changed. However, I've always known Paul to be a straightforward and respectable individual. I don't know if I'd advertise like he does.. :) but he's definitely someone worth training under.