PDA

View Full Version : Wing Chun in San Francisco. Please Help.

SF_McFLY
06-03-2002, 06:08 PM
I'm new to Wing Chun, in fact i've never taken a lesson before, but i'd like to get started on the right foot. I know that martial arts instruction can be hit and miss. I'm also new to San Francisco.

In your opinions, what is the best place in San Francisco to study Wing Chun?

I've been looking on the internet...what a mess. I can't find much of anything as far as whats out there, and i know there must be great places within San Francisco.

Is Wing Chun something that has a fast learning curve?, or is it something that will take years before i can actually use it for self defense? I feel somewhat threatened, sometimes, living in San Francisco and would like to begin aquiring skills immediately, just in case.

Merryprankster
06-03-2002, 06:15 PM
Where in SF are you living that you feel threatened?! WOW! I loved that city.

Anyway, you're SMACK in the middle of Kung Fu central as far as many are concerned. I'm sure you can find what you want :) I'm the wrong man--just was attracted to the post because of SF.

Make sure to have a few Irish coffees at the Buena Vista Cafe, and be sure to partake of some of the traditional Chinese restaurants. I'm talking about places that offer things like hot and spicy tripe and Hog Maws with black beans. It's better overall than any other place in the US, I think.

Cheers!

fantom
06-03-2002, 06:32 PM
A pak sao will be one of the first moves you should learn, and within a few leasons you should be able to use this to defend yourself.
Make no mistake though, it will take years of learning Wing Chun to defend yourself and initiate a counter.

You are in a strong wing chun area, try the following kwoons for the best location and training that suits you!

Chris Chan - http://www.uswingchun.com/
Kenneth Chung - http://www.bawcsa.org/
Dave Gustofson - http://www.moyyat.com/

Cheers

urban tea
06-04-2002, 05:15 AM