PDA

View Full Version : Stretching

Sleemie
06-12-2002, 12:29 PM
I know this is probably a very basic question for all you advanced dudes on here, but I'm just beginning my training so you'll have to bear with me....

The question is on stretching...all my life I've been taught that you stretch to the point of pain and hold it, and I've taken it a step further and would actually push to the point of it being as painful as I could bear, but without pushing to the point of doing damage. However, I just read an article that said you should never hold your stretch at the point of pain, that you should actually take about 30-40 seconds to get all the way in to the stretch, and just when you get to the point of feeling the first twinges of pain you back off just slightly until the pain is gone and then hold the stretch for 20-30 seconds in the beginning, and then holding it longer as you get more advanced. The article said that stretching should be relatively easy and definitely pain free. I've never stretched pain free, but I've also never stuck with it long enough to see if my method was productive...

So, what's the story on stretching, and can anyone recommend a good free source on the internet for more information on stretching.

Thanx a bunch.

IronFist
06-12-2002, 12:50 PM
It's kind of expensive, but the best book on stretching you will ever read is "Relax into Stretch" by Pavel Tsatsouline.

He's written two other books on stretching, and a video or two, but the one I mentioned above is the only one I've ever read. I'm sure his other ones are very good as well, however.

IronFist

Sleemie
06-12-2002, 01:18 PM
What about Bill Wallace's "Dynamic Stretching and Kicking?" It's only like $10 bucks. It may not be as good as the other one, but if that get's an A and this one only gets a B, for the price difference it's worth it.

GunnedDownAtrocity
06-12-2002, 06:45 PM