PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Quickies

Sleemie
06-21-2002, 06:32 AM
I'm new to Qigong and was hoping to find some "quickie" exercises that I could perform during the day while I have some brief moments of free time or while I'm driving. I'm not trying to take a short cut, I'll put in the time on the longer exercises when I have the time at home, but during the day I keep thinking that I could be doing something productive during some of my down time. They would have to be things I can do while at me desk at work or driving, so I won't have complete quiet. Also, I'm looking for something using both methods (sorry I don't remember the correct terminology) but when I say both methods, I mean one where you strictly focus on the breathing and the other where you focus on your hands and try to get to the point where you feel the energy in them.

I do have a book, by the way, but they don't provide any such exercises.

Thanx

dezhen2001
06-21-2002, 06:58 AM
why can't you just do some sitting meditation when ur at your desk? (NOT recommended while driving though :D). The main thing i find is just to keep your body relaxed, have good posture, and be mindful throughout the day. That's what qigong is for isn't it? :)

david

Sleemie
06-21-2002, 07:03 AM
That sounds good to me, but I'm looking for a specific meditation, with all the details of how to perform it. The one I learned from my book doesn't seem like it would be appropriate for my situation.

As far as something while I'm driving, what about just doing deep breathing focusing on breathing from the Dan Tien area and using the proper rythym of inhalation and exhalation?

dezhen2001
06-21-2002, 07:35 AM
Well, i would concentrate more on driving ;)

Breathing naturally and fully is good for you anyway, and is what qigong teaches yo to do. So you use your lungs more, increase energy etc.