PDA

View Full Version : zui quan: for show or for real?

Sam Seed
06-24-2002, 08:22 PM
Hi! I have been practicing the arts for about 2 years now. My main focus has been only the basics. I would like to know every one's thoughts on the drunken fist arts.

Former castleva
06-25-2002, 03:54 AM
People who have practiced the art here or elsewhere are probably a few.
It seems that zui is such a rare art and it is questioned if it actually is one.

Leto
06-28-2002, 07:34 AM
It is not an 'art' in of itself, really. But it is a 'style' which is a part of at least a few Chinese martial arts. It does/can work very effectively, but it requires a great deal of athelticism and flexibility.
The most common forms of zui chuan I think are the 8 drunken immortals. I have also seen/heard of drunken weapon forms...drunken spear, drunken staff, drunken broadsword...I have only seen the drunken spear form in person.
Suffice to say, though, that they didn't just make up the style for movies. It is for real.

David Jamieson
06-28-2002, 07:53 AM
To step drunk as a strategy to avoid attack is a good thing indeed.

Drunken boxing as a "fighting" style is not even used today. It's for training and development. Otherwise, maybe you could get a part in a movie with it. :D

peace

Helicopter
06-28-2002, 08:08 AM
I think the 'play yourself weak' tactic works, I've used it in sparring with success, fein tiredness, drop your guard a tad and either they'll wail-in on you and (hopefully) run into your foot/fist or they relax slightly so when you spring they're not as ready.

I wouldn't try it twice in the same match though. :)

jpcm

Le nOObi
06-28-2002, 08:12 AM
Are you the same as the sam seed who plays op4?

Helicopter
06-28-2002, 08:16 AM
To my (very limited) experience Drunken plays like an exagerated Dragon style.:confused:

Any opinions? especially if I'm talking b*ll*cks. I'm here to learn.:)

jpcm

Leto
06-28-2002, 08:59 AM