PDA

View Full Version : Gao style and self defense...

Zenwalker
06-26-2002, 04:26 PM
I have been studying two Pa Kua styles for several years now including Gao's style. I've never practiced Hsing I but am interested in any similarities there may be, as like Hsing I, Gao focuses on line drills and self defense.

Also, I understand that Hsing I develops real fighting ability in a relativly quick fashion when compared to other internal arts like Tai Chi Ch'uan and pure pre birth Pa Kua. Gao style is also reported to be readily applicable to fighting (though obviously real internal power will still take 'lots of dilligent practice). Any thoughts or success stories in the self defense arena would be greatly appreciated. :)

Also, I recently read an interesting book entitled Taking it to the Street: how to make your martial art street effective, by Marc "Animal" McYoung. In it, McYoung explains his theory that TMA training is like military boot camp.

It gives you the nuts and bolts of basic marksmanship, how to move through a jungle etc. but when the soldier hits the combat zone, he's gotta field strip. You didn't see a whole lotta guys marching formation through the jungles of 'Nam in spit shinned boots and eighty pound packs full of wool blankets and parade uniforms. Likewise, according to McYoung, the TMA needs to cut through the formality and any impractical (i.e. difficult to make work in a fight) techniques when he takes his art to the MZ. Any thoughts on this?

Crimson Phoenix
06-27-2002, 01:57 AM
What is practical, what isn't??? How to judge?? Something can be unpractical for you, yet perfectly natural for an other...