PDA

View Full Version : Strength vs. Speed

Kungfu boy
06-28-2002, 03:31 AM
Hey Ya'll,

As you guys probably know by now, I am a student of thai and my main weapon is my kicks. So of course I wanna make them as best they can be.

Here's the question I have, if I do a real good leg workout(leg curls, leg press and hindu squats) am I going to slow myself down in the kicking department? So basically, does the size of the muscle effect speed?

Thanks guys & gals

Merryprankster
06-28-2002, 05:27 AM
You want to be strong and fast?

Train like olympic weighlifters, top-notch throwers and jumpers.

You want to be strong and don't care about speed?

Train like a classic (not westside) powerlifter.

And....

Plyos, plyos, plyos.

Repulsive Monkey
06-28-2002, 05:33 AM
If you are increasing leg muscle mass beyond the requisite needs of your whole body mass, then yes your kicks will become slower. Muscle mass does = greater speed. Usually the opposite.

Kungfu boy
06-29-2002, 12:33 AM
I wanna be strong AND fast, not giving one up for the other.

Also, does the size of your calves have anything to do with kicking or any real function? Is there a point to having big calves?

popsider
06-29-2002, 03:36 AM
Originally posted by Merryprankster
You want to be strong and fast?

Train like olympic weighlifters, top-notch throwers and jumpers.

You want to be strong and don't care about speed?

Train like a classic (not westside) powerlifter.

And....

Plyos, plyos, plyos.

And if you want to be a weightlifter, thrower or jumper should you train like a top kickboxer?

I'm only joking, I think there is a lot of value in looking at how other sports train, but first and foremost have a look at how the top kick boxers train - chances are they are doing something right. Do they use weights, if so how?

IronFist
07-01-2002, 01:05 PM