PDA

View Full Version : Grappling/myopia

dnc101
06-28-2002, 12:58 PM
First off, don't jump the gun and assume I'm being critical or disrespectful here. Far from it, I respect good grapling, probably because I'm not that good at it.

There is a tendency in martial arts to get a little myopic in our training. Strikers tend to ignore the fact that some of you guys like to tie up and/or take it down to the ground. That probably isn't verry wise, though I've been guilty of that myself. But some of the grappling moves I've seen are apparently worse for this than I am.

I'm not talking about sport or regular training where you try not to dammage each other too much. But in the real world fear is a great motivator- it will cause you to do things you'd normally cringe at. And taking me down with intent would probably scare me into a hyper motivated state. By the nature of your art, you bring a lot of vulnerable targets in close, like your face/eyes. Then when you start a grab or lock you leave that target open to strikes such as heel palms and finger techniques. Also, your arms and sometimes your neck are within range of my teeth. Normally I wouldn't bite you, as I'm sure you all have rabies. But if I'm scared enough I'd probably risk it and go after arteries, tendons, or whatever is there.

I know that some of your takedowns and defenses are quick and devastating. My dad showed me one defense against a headlock several years ago that had the opponents back broke over his knee almost before he knew his head and butt were in the same plane. But a lot of your stuff from, say a top mount, looks a little risky, as I pointed out.