PDA

View Full Version : Okay What is the POINT

Unstoppable
07-06-2002, 07:55 AM
Speccically what is thePoint of Studying Kung Fu and could it Be USED in practical Terms for Combat. i have Been dicusing This with My Feinds fellow Students and So Forth ....... So Many people are Scared to Say 'Kung Fung is for FIghting!" but I think That is what It is For. What is Your opinion!

Is th

dnc101
07-06-2002, 08:07 AM
You forgot the catagory "All that and much, much more."

BrentCarey
07-06-2002, 08:40 AM
True "REALTY" fighting

Why would you want fight real estate?

BrentCarey
07-06-2002, 09:11 AM
I couldn't really vote because I didn't find choices that I agreed with. I have been studying martial arts for well over 20 years, kung fu for something like 13 years, and teaching for well over 10 years. I am diametrically opposed to "fighting".

This is a semantic statement, but draws an important distinction. I use the term "fighting" to describe two or more people engaged in combat, each of them trying to harm the other for some reason. As my mother used to say, "It takes two to fight."

While I am opposed to fighting (as I defined it), I emphasize the importance of good self-defense. In self-defense, two people are engaged in combat, but their goals and methods are different. The attacker wants the harm the defender for whatever reason, but the defender just wants to prevent that action through whatever means necessary. Granted, sometimes this means that the defender must injure the attacker, but that is not the defender's goal, and is only made necessary through the attacker's own actions.