PDA

View Full Version : pi chuan to long?

doug maverick
07-06-2002, 08:46 AM
i've been studing xing yi for two years from a friend of my fathers(who was a student of wang ji wu) he has a fair amount of students but he really doesn't take any students unless you know somebody any way for the first year i did santi and he had me doing these type of stretches called the 16 nei gung excerises (theres a book out there about it by dan miller and tim cartmill very good) i hated it cause i wanted to learn how to fight but i endured out of respect to my father, then he taught me pi chuan and i've been doing that for a year 2 hours a day, i must admit i can drop anybody with the like nothing,but one fist for a whole year i think thats way to long, i asked my father is he could tell him to teach something else my father told me that his fgriend wants me to anilyze everey aspect of the pi chuan, i'm thinking of quiting should i? or should i keep training?
"it's not what you know, it's what you can prove"

doug maverick
07-06-2002, 08:59 AM
excuse the spelling errors,

gazza99
07-06-2002, 09:05 AM
Well, unfortunately Im not patient enough to do that, but yes it can take a year to get Pi-Chuan down well, you must understand that there are alot of mechanics involved, and they will all translate to the other fists! So even though you may only know* Pi chuan now, the rest will come much easier.
Just politely express your boredom, and show him how well you are doing with it. You can always find another teacher/tape/book/diagram/mpg. to at least show you the framwork of the others.

good luck!
Gary

Justa Man
07-06-2002, 12:20 PM
Go to Mike Patterson's website and look at the video mpeg of how he breaks down pi chuan. www.hsing-i.com - If you can use pi chuan THIS well then I think you have a good case for arguement with your teacher.

If not then keep eating bitter. :)

jon
07-06-2002, 11:00 PM
doug maverick