PDA

View Full Version : Went to another WC class....

NPMantis
07-11-2002, 03:31 PM
...and I am still in pain. I thought I was going to vomit half an hour into the lesson from the workout - I'm not unfit but it was really hard! It was a different school but still not exactly what I want from a school.

I still really love the concepts behing WC (for people who read my last post), really looking forward to studying it, not sure if this was the right class though, is it common not to learn from the Sifu from from students who have gone longer than you? (and I'm talking about a month longer). It's not the type of school I really want to go to, I'd rather learn from someone who really knows what they're doing, I know I'm a beginner but I think the foundation is a very important part of your training, your're learning your bread and butter moves.

Does anyone else have any similar experiences? Perhaps I expect too much?

stuff
07-11-2002, 04:01 PM
i've only been at my school for about 1.5-2 months. If I see a newer student doing some thing wrong I might correct him, but most of the time i leave it to the instructors. There some times that they will pair me up with a new student to teach 'em things like single stick or proper punching. The majority of the time its sifu and the snior students who teach. Most have been there for 15-30 years, so I trust in their teaching.

Axiom
07-11-2002, 04:28 PM
I learn from everyone I train with. Usually my Sifu will pair or group people up and ask different sets of people to work on whatever he feels they should work on for a while. Usually people are grouped with others of a similar level, but quite often a more senior student will get paired with a newer student or asked to oversee some newer students to help their training. He still wanders around and makes sure everything is going ok, spending some time with everyone to make a few corrections or point something out, or doing whatever else teachers do :)